☰ Menu
Institute of Professional Representatives before the European Patent Office

Overview on Ratification of the UPC Agreement, Update 2 September 2019

September 02, 2019

Before the Unified Patent Court Agreement (UPCA) can enter into force, it needs to be ratified by 13 Member States, including Germany, France and the UK (Art 89(1) UPCA). The epi’s Litigation Committee members from the various EU Member States have contributed information on the latest developments in their respective countries with regard to the ratification. The input has been summarised in the attached table, which also contains news about the Member States’ consent to be bound by the Protocol on Provision Application (PPA) and about the potential establishment of local or regional divisions (Art 7 UPCA) and the corresponding languages of proceedings (Art 49 UPCA). This table comprises data from all Signatory States to the UPCA. In addition, Poland, Croatia and Spain are included, being Member States of the European Union and potential candidates for joining the UPC in the future.

Previous Next