☰ Menu
Institute of Professional Representatives before the European Patent Office

News Policy

Policy for news items on the epi website

download pdf

UPC Agreement Ratification Process and Local or Regional Divisions

July 20, 2015

Before the Unified Patent Court Agreement (UPCA) can enter into force, it needs to be ratified by 13 Member States, including Germany, France and the UK (Art 89(1) UPCA). The epi’s Litigation Committee members from the various EU Member States have contributed information on the latest developments in their respective countries with regard to the ratification process. The input has been summarised in the attached table{target=_blank}, which also contains news about the potential establishment of local or regional divisions (Art 7 UPCA) and the corresponding languages of proceedings (Art 49 UPCA). This table comprises data from all Signatory States to the UPCA. In addition, Poland, Croatia and Spain are included, being Member States of the European Union and potential candidates for joining the UPC in the future.

Previous Next