☰ Menu
Institute of Professional Representatives before the European Patent Office


PEC has set up a number of subcommittes to concentrate on key areas of its responsibilities.

"CPE" subcommittee

The overall main task of the CPE subcommittee is to organise Continued Professional Education for all epi members (and paralegals).
See Terms of Reference PEC 20 April 2013, B.11).
This is performed by:

  • defining the content and form of CPE educational events, which may take the form of seminars, webinars, (online and in-person) workshops, videos, etc.
  • overseeing the organisation of these courses, including discussions with EPO Academy on cooperation within the framework of the EPO-epi MoU
  • drafting the programme with respect of places and dates, including discussion with the epi Education Team and the individual PEC members that are responsible for the local organisation of events in their country. 
  • evaluation of carried out events
  • as long as the UP/UPC joint working group exists, close collaboration with this working group to align the programme and organisational consequences (it is foreseen to take over the tasks of the UP/UPC joint working group)

It is further responsible for the search and selection of suitable epi speakers.

Current Members
AL Eno Dodbiba
BE Hendrik Bart Van Den Hazel
DE Thomas Pott
EE Margus Sarap
ES Lluís Vilalta
FR Jérôme Collin
FI Tomi-Matti Juhani Konkonen
IT Paolo Rambelli
LI Liudmila Gerasimovic
MT Petra Pecharová
NL Lambertus A.C.M. van Wezenbeek (Chair)
PT Isabel Carvalho Franco
RO Mihaela Teodorescu
SM Giampaolo Agazzani

"Editorial" subcommittee

This subcommittee deals with all PEC editorial issues. It regularly updates texts in the epi website Education Section, and publishes education-related articles and announcements in "epi Information". It assists and/or cooperates with the PEC Chair in order to create content on PEC and educational activities for epi Information.
It liaises with epi’s Editorial Committee.

Current Members
IE Rory Litton
LI Anke Allwardt
LU Didier Lecomte (Chair)
NL Lambertus A.C.M. van Wezenbeek

"EQE" subcommittee

This subcommittee deals with the European Qualifying Examination (EQE). It monitors EQE pass rates and evaluates the results of the annual EQE candidates’ survey. It provides opinions on Examination Supervisor Board (ESB) decisions to be implemented whenever PEC is consulted by the epi ESB members. It liaises with the Examination Secretariat at the European Patent Office (EPO), which is responsible for the EQE.

Current Members
AT Peter Atzmüller
CH Tarik Kapic
Susanna Louise Ruder
GB Julia Louise Gwilt
GR Alexandros Lioumbis
IE Rory Litton
MC Tum Thach
MT Pera Pecharová (Chair)
NL Cornelius A.M. Mulder

"epi students and EQE candidates" subcommittee

The "epi students and EQE candidates" subcommittee should supervise the training of candidates (especially epi students). The subcommittee should monitor and update epi training options for EQE candidates, such as:

  • epi homepage sections for epi students, the online forum for epi students, educational offers for epi students and EQE candidates (in collaboration with the PEC Editorial Subcommittee)
  • epi Tutorials 
  • epi Mock EQE 
  • implementation of 3-years-training-programme guiding epi students from their beginning in the profession until sitting the EQE. This programme is currently under development. 
epi students and EQE candidates
Current Members
BE Margaret Mackett (Chair)
BG Radislava Andreeva Kosseva
CZ Katerina Hartvichova
HU Dóra Andrea Tepfenhárt
IS Anna Valborg Gudmundsdóttir
LI Anke Allwardt
MT Petra Pecharová
NO Per Berg
PL Joanna Dargiewicz
Adam Pawlowski
SE Rut Herbjørnsen

"epi Tutors and Coaches" subcommittee

The "epi Tutors and Coaches" subcommittee should i.a. supervise the training of epi tutors, and set up a training programme for epi tutors, a mentor programme for new tutors, organise the annual epi tutors’ meeting, and monitor the quality of our tutors.

It is further responsible for the search and selection of suitable epi Tutors and Coaches.
It advises the PEC Chair on the appointment of the CSP coordinator.

epi Tutors and Coaches
Current Members
CH Susanna Louise Ruder
CZ Katerina Hartvichova (Chair)
BE Margaret Mackett
GB Julia Louise Gwilt
NO Per Berg
PL Joanna Dargiewicz
TR Baris Atalay

"Executive" subcommittee

This subcommittee will constantly review current PEC projects, consult regularly and decide quickly on issues on behalf of PEC,
when there is no time to consult with the whole committee.
It consists of the PEC chair, the secretary and the subcommittee and WG chairs.

Current Members
BE Margaret Mackett (Chair of epi Students and EQE candidates subcomm.)
CZ Katerina Hartvichova (Chair of epi Tutors and coaches subcomm.)
MT Petra Pecharová (Chair of EQE subcomm.)
DK Pia Stahr (Chair of UP/UPC Education WG)
IT Paolo Rambelli (Chair of PEC)
LI Anke Allwardt (Secretary of PEC)
LU Didier Lecomte (Chair of Editorial subcomm.)
NL Cornelius A.M. Mulder (Chair of DSG)
Bart van Wezenbeek (Chair of CPE subcomm.)

"Advisory" Working Group 

According to the amended ToR (cf. item B1 e), PEC appointed dedicated members for advising the epi President in matters regarding appeals from decisions of the Examination Board (EB) or Examination Secretariat. The task of these members is to:

  • advise the president as to the need to comment, and where appropriate, prepare such comments
  • represent the president at oral proceedings
  • provide feedback to PEC on the basis of the decisions

The confidentiality must be respected.

Advisory Working Group
Current Members
BE Margaret Mackett
CH Susanna Louise Ruder
FR Francis Lionel Fernandez
IT Paolo Rambelli
MT Petra Pecharová
SE Martin Holmberg

"UP/UPC Education" Working Group (jointly set up with the EPPC and the LitCom)

The implementation of the Unitary Patent and Unified Patent Court system will significantly affect the daily work of epi members. PEC has the responsibility of providing training for epi members to prepare for the new systems.
As a result, in autumn 2013 PEC established a joint WG consisting of PEC-, EPPC- and LitCom members.

UP/UPC Education
Current Members
PEC Thomas Pott (DE)
Pia Stahr (DK) (Chair)
Bart van Wezenbeek (NL)
EPPC Francis Leyder (BE)
Chris Mercer (GB)
Manolis Samuelides (GR)
LitCom Sigurdur Ingvarsson (IS)
Michael Stadler (AT)
Peter Thomsen (CH)

"Digitalisation Support Group (DSG)" 

In order to prepare for an e-EQE, the Supervisory Board set up an e-EQE Working Group wherein the Examination Secretariat of the EPO, IT specialists and three epi members work together to set up the framework of the e-EQE to be held for the first time in March 2021.

To support and assist the epi members in the e-EQE Working Group, epi has set up a Digitalisation Support group (DSG) under the umbrella of the PEC. In this support group the latest developments are discussed and also plans are developed to come to a new format of the EQE to enter into force in 2023. 

Current Members
CH Tarik Kapic
Peter Thomsen
DE Andrew Hards
IT Paolo Rambelli
MT Petra Pecharová
NL Cornelius A.M. Mulder (Chair)
RO Oana Boncea
UK Julia Gwilt